Cape Wine Masters welcome their newest graduate – Jacqui Henderson

by | May 15, 2019 | Blog, News

A new Cape Wine Master has graduated and joined the ranks of the Institute of Cape Wine Masters the same year that the Cape Wine Academy (CWA) celebrates its 40th anniversary. The new head of the CWA Harry Melck awarded the certificate to Jacqui Henderson during an exclusive event at Neethlingshof on Friday 10 May. Harry was also the only CWA graduate last year.


Jacqui Henderson has graduated as a new Cape Wine Master.


Another Cape Wine Master, Jeff Grier from Villiera, presented Jacqui with a traditional sabre trophy for her outstanding achievement in the MCC wine tasting exam.

Jacqui brings the number of Cape Wine Masters to 102. Her dissertation was titled A case for Chardonnay as a regional signature variety for Elgin’s cool climate, which is available to download at the Institute of Cape Wine Masters website.

It explores Chardonnay as a regional signature variety for Elgin’s cool climate, using data from eight weather stations in the vicinity, an online research platform and interviews with producers. Her findings show strong temperature variations within Elgin and ideal Chardonnay conditions, and proposes dividing Elgin into wards accordingly. A strong regional identity could help establish Elgin as a fine wine region that produces world class Chardonnay and promote greater profitability for winemakers.

Jacqui started her wine journey in 2004 with her brother-in-law Andrew Gunn of Iona Vineyards, overcoming personal obstacles and a hearing impairment to study. She thanked her supervisor Harry Melck and her family for their support throughout this challenging but highly rewarding time.


Front row: Duimpie Bayly, Irina von Holt, Conrad Louw (ICWM chairman), Jacqui Henderson (new Cape Wine Master), Harry Melck (ICWM principal), Elsie Pels, Alan Mullins. Second row: Sandy Harper, Colin Frith, Winnie Bowman, Dave March, Karin Visser, Lizette Tolken, Christine Rudman, Margie Barker, Jeff Grier, Third row: Debbie van Flymen, Daniel le Roux, Catherine Dillon, De Bruyn Steenkamp, Tom Blok, Nina-Mari Bruwer, Cathy Grier, Greg de Bruyn, Kristina Beuthner, Ivan Oettle Back Row: Bennie Howard, Francois Cilliers, Brad Gold, Anton Swarts, Jacques Steyn, Janno Briers-Louw, Caroline Snyman, Marius Malan, Mary-Lou Nash

Article Archives

Search for more articles

Generic selectors
Exact matches only
Search in title
Search in content
Post Type Selectors

Stay current with our monthly editions

Share This
Shopping cart
There are no products in the cart!
Continue shopping