Finalists of the 2019 Responsible Drinking Media Awards announced

by | Sep 19, 2019 | News

Diageo SA is pleased to announce that after receiving 464 entries into its ninth Responsible Drinking Media Awards (RDMAs), the 2019 finalists have been selected.

Judged by a broad mix of media experts, the 2019 judging panel consisted of SABC’s executive producer of English news, Megan Lubke; Wits journalism lecturer and board member of Health-e News, Dinesh Balliah; freelance editor and chair of the African Editors Forum, Jovial Rantao; Primedia’s Group Editor-in-Chief and chairperson of SANEF, Mahlatse Mahlase; and seasoned journalist and talk radio show host, Mike Siluma.

“Judging by the number of entries that continue to pour in each year, we can safely say that South African media are aware of the serious issues arising from the irresponsible use of alcohol. These awards have been put in place to acknowledge their efforts and encourage more journalists to wave the responsible drinking flag,” says Sibani Mngadi, Corporate Relations Director at Diageo SA.

Here are this year’s finalists…

Best Newspaper (Community / Non-Commercial) – Samantha Lee (Tygerburger); Esme Erasmus (Tygerburger); and Vennessa Scholtz (Northern News).

Best Newspaper (Commercial) – Sharika Regchand (Weekend Witness); Marchelle Abrahams (The Mercury); and Carla Lewis (Beeld).

Best Online – Esme Erasmus (Netwerk24); Marchelle Abrahams (IOL); and Carla Lewis (Netwerk24).

Best Magazine – Sarah Koopman (S Mag); Anton Pretorius (WineLand); and Keith Bain (khuluma).

Best TV – Wandile Mofokeng (SABC); Carol Albertyn Christie (Carte Blanche); and Reginald Witbooi (SABC).

Best Radio (Commercial) – Philippa Hudson, Amy-Rae Rispel & OB Sitwayi (Cape Talk); and Bruce Hong, Keino Kammies & Nicola Bruns (Cape Talk).

Best radio (Community / Non-Commercial) – Felix Ngobeni (Alfred Nzo Community Radio); Pieter Cloete (Groot FM); and Sibongile Mofokeng (Radio Pulpit).

Best Up & Coming – Saara Mowlana (Traveller24); Samantha Lee (Tygerburger); Wandile Mofokeng (SABC).

Journalist of the Year and Media House of the Year – to be announced on the evening of the awards ceremony.

The winner of each of the above categories will walk away with R15000 and a public acknowledgment for their efforts to help combat alcohol abuse in South Africa. Winners will be announced at an official awards ceremony on 3 October 2019.

For more information on the awards visit

About the RDMA’s

The RDMAs recognise journalists and media at large for their efforts to positively influence perceptions and habits related to the irresponsible use of alcohol.

The awards are open to South African journalists who produce content that relates to responsible drinking and the impact of alcohol abuse, including issues such as drink driving, underage drinking, foetal alcohol syndrome, binge drinking and alcohol-related violence. Any published material on any media platform that aims to support this cause is eligible to enter the awards and win a prize.

About Diageo

Diageo is the world’s leading premium drinks business with an outstanding collection of beverage alcohol brands. These brands include Johnnie Walker, JεB, Singleton and other single malt whiskies, Smirnoff, Cîroc and Ketel One vodkas; Tanqueray gin and Captain Morgan rum.

Visit us at for more information. Celebrating life, every day, everywhere.



Article Archives

Search for more articles

Generic selectors
Exact matches only
Search in title
Search in content
Post Type Selectors

Stay current with our monthly editions

Share This
Shopping cart
There are no products in the cart!
Continue shopping