Honouring the conservationists

by | Feb 4, 2016 | Development and Transformation, News

Green Awards

A number of Cape producers are actively conserving part of their land and minimising their agricultural  while making enjoyable – and often impressive – wines.

The Nedbank Green Awards honours producers and winemakers who continue to lead the way in conservation. In 2015, a total of 150 entries were received for the Awards, now in its seventh year. With an esteemed panel of judges, led by international judge Fiona McDonald, the judging process stretched over two days.

Improved quality highly praised

The judges noted the improvement in the standard of wine and Singita wine director François Rautenbach singled out the true varietal character of the wines and remarked that, three years ago, the quality of the wines was suffering, due to the lower sulphur regimes that organic producers subscribed to.

Wines were judged across the two categories: organically grown grapes and Integrated Production of Wine (IPW). Both categories had four sections: best red wine, best white wine, bloggers’ choice, best value wine. Overall winners in the two categories were also announced. The following wines were the 2015 winners:

Best organically grown grapes

  • Best wine overall: Org De Rac La Verne MCC 2012
  • Best red wine: Reyneke Cornerstone 2013
  • Best white wine: Laibach Woolworths The Ladybird Chardonnay 2014
  • Bloggers’ choice: Org De Rac La Verne MCC 2012
  • Best value wine: Stellar Organics Running Duck Sauvignon Blanc 2015

Best integrated production of wine

  • Best wine overall: Sijnn White 2013
  • Best red wine: Waverley Hills Grenache 2014
  • Best white wine: Sijnn White 2013
  • Bloggers’ choice: The FMC 2013
  • Best value wine: Wildekrans Wine Estate Sauvignon Blanc 2015


Another notable category was the award for best practice, which honoured farms promoting sustainable farming and conservation of the Cape Winelands. This award assesses and rewards those who are responding to environmental challenges in meaningful and successful ways. Producers had to nominate their peers for the award and motivate their choice.

Best farming practive winners

  • Overall Winner: Wildekrans
  • Leader in Energy Conservation: Lourensford
  • Leader in Water Conservation: Spier
  • Leader in Eco-tourism: Villiera
  • Leader in Community Development: Wildekrans

Article Archives


Search for more articles

Generic selectors
Exact matches only
Search in title
Search in content
Post Type Selectors

Stay current with our monthly editions

Share This
Shopping cart
There are no products in the cart!
Continue shopping