Shiraz champions announced

by | Jun 1, 2017 | Business and Marketing, Wineland

The winners at the 2017 Shiraz SA awards proudly show their awards.

A dozen excellent Shiraz wines and three impressive Shiraz blends caught the spotlight at the recent annual Shiraz Challenge at Rhebokskloof. According to SA Shiraz chairman, Edmund Terblanche, about 220 wines competed for the top positions. “We initially focused on Shiraz, but later on decided that winemakers should also be able to enter their best blends to increase the scope of this competition,” says Edmund. “There is continued growth in die blend category, not only for Rhône styles, but also for all blends where Shiraz is the main component.”

The top 2017 Shiraz wines were:

Cederberg Shiraz 2015

D’Aria The Soprano Shiraz 2015

Eagle’s Nest Shiraz 2014

Fairview Beacon Shiraz 2014

Fairview Swartland Shiraz 2014

Flagstone Dark Horse Shiraz 2013

KWV Cathedral Cellar Shiraz 2015

La Motte Pierneef Syrah Viognier 2015

Rustenberg Buzzard Kloof Syrah 2015

Saronsberg Shiraz 2015

Strandveld Syrah 2013

Wildekrans Barrel Select Reserve Shiraz 2015

The top three Shiraz blends were:

Bellingham The Bernard Series SMV 2014

Rustenberg Stellenbosch RM Nicholson 2015

Saronsberg Full Circle 2015

Article Archives


Search for more articles

Generic selectors
Exact matches only
Search in title
Search in content
Post Type Selectors

Stay current with our monthly editions

Share This
Shopping cart
There are no products in the cart!
Continue shopping